T4 Channel selection by keying in a number only eg. 7, 9, 10

Discussions on Digital TV, Signal Areas, Scheduling and Programs.

Moderators: Gully, peteru

Master

T4 Channel selection by keying in a number only eg. 7, 9, 10

Post by 000 » Thu Jul 30, 2015 12:42

Hello Beyonwiz Forum folks,

I'm relatively new to Beyonwiz and the T4. I've figured out most things I need to know (and the forum has been a great read too -- thank you). But one issue I'm stuck on his how to key in a channel number directly via the T4 remote.

If I key in say, the number "2" on the remote, I get the 7TWO channel (as it's 2nd in my bouquet list of channels). I really wanted the ABC.
If I key the number "9", I get the ABC (as it's 9th in my bouquet). I really wanted Channel Nine (which is 4th on the bouquet -- so keying in '4' would work).
If I key the number "72", I correctly get 7TWO -- since I guess there is no item with the bouquet number 72 (my bouquet goes up to no more than 15).

I've been working through all the T4's settings, including under Channel Selection Settings, and I don't seem to be able to get it to work the way an old fashioned TV remote would work (just keying in the station number). I've tried settings such as:
  • Alternate numbering mode
  • Channel list service mode (various)
  • Number press action (various)
and several other options there, but without success.

I have my bouquet of channels listed in a logical (to me) order of grouping (e.g. Channel 7-related together, Channel 9-related together, and so on). So I'm not after a workaround of putting the channels in a particular order (e.g. putting ABC in 2nd place, to make "2" work for ABC, putting Channel 9 in 9th place etc.).

I know I can use the EPG (and usually do) to chose a channel that way. But if I just want to jump from one station to another, I'd like to be able to key in a logical number to get there, without having to remember that "ABC = key in 9", "Channel 9 = key in 4", and so on.