Can not reinstate scheduled recordings

Discuss IceTV's EPG and Remote services here.

Moderators: Gully, peteru

Post Reply
User avatar
_DrifteR_
Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 18:53
Location: Brisbane

Can not reinstate scheduled recordings

Post by _DrifteR_ » Sun Jul 11, 2010 13:48

After about a year of uninterrupted IceTV usage, I decided to rescan channels to re-map the new ABC services (24hr news) and now the I can't get my scheduled recordings back.

I have a DP-P2 running 01.05.301 on a 0908 0000 0A22 9E3C sys id.

After rescanning channels, I removed the IceTV cache data, and forced an IceTV EPG update with no problems. I was left with a message saying "waiting X minutes to get schduler task." where x would count down from 30 min and after 30 minutes, it would show an error message and count down again. I eventually got the message "unable to get EPG data, too many requests" or some message similar to that (can't remember exact wording). Now i am getting the message "invalid task action". I thought perhaps it was a timing thing so I left my Wiz on to see if it would succeed after a few attempts, but after 24 hours I still have no scheduled recordings.

To clarify, my Wiz connects to IceTV and can fetch the EPG successfully, I have deleted cached EPG data and updated a number of times now. I have tried the following in an attempt to reinstate my scheduled recordings...

- searched the forum to discover if other users had this issue. Only other post I could find related to a new user setup - my issue is related to reinstating timers.
- Logged on to my IceTV account and hit "re-send all scheduled recordings to my device", then hit "Save", this did not work! I have tried several times for "this device" and "all devices".
- turned my Wiz off for about 1 hour hoping that upon wake up, the Wiz would connect to server and fetch all recording data, again this did not work.
- I've also checked for duplicate LCNs, there are none.
- tried disabling and re-enabling IceTV in the Wiz setup.

Any other ideas? Any thing apparent that I've missed? Is this a specific IceTV question?
DP-P2 (1.05.350)
ATV2-XBMC
LG 42" HD Plasma
ReadyNAS for Streaming
(ex Toppy 5000, ex MediaGate, ex MediaPortal PC)

User avatar
tonymy01
Uber Wizard
Posts: 6373
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 15:25
Location: Sydney, Australia DP-S1-1TB, DP-P2-2TB, DP-T4-2TB, DP-T4-BB... too many!
Contact:

Post by tonymy01 » Sun Jul 11, 2010 14:10

Wow, someone else with this issue. I have this each DST transition, and the only solution is to wait about 24hours to 48hours, and it seems to come good.
I was given a beta by Korea to fault find this for them, but I couldn't get the issue to come back at the time, so was not able to provide Korea with any data about the issue unfortunately.
Tony

User avatar
grampus
Wizard
Posts: 1507
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 07:16
Location: Williamstown Vic

Post by grampus » Sun Jul 11, 2010 14:53

tonymy01 wrote:Wow, someone else with this issue. I have this each DST transition, and the only solution is to wait about 24hours to 48hours, and it seems to come good.
I was given a beta by Korea to fault find this for them, but I couldn't get the issue to come back at the time, so was not able to provide Korea with any data about the issue unfortunately.
I had a problem a little while ago where I had deleted a couple of timers manually in the BW, then tried a resend from IceTV to try and get all my timers back to where I had them setup by IceTV.

When this didn't happen I asked for clarification.

The answer was
Actually the resend all recordings is only designed for if you have performed a factory reset or re-scanned the channels in your PVR and all timers have been dropped, in these cases a message is not sent back to the IceTV server that the timers are no longer in the Beyonwiz. So the resend recordings is used in this sense to have the timers that the servers thinks are already in your PVR resend so they can be setup again.
This confused me a bit, and I followed up.
With the following result.
if the timers are all dropped on the Beyonwiz because of a re-scan or a reset to factory defaults it will not send a message back to the IceTV server to say that the timers are no longer in the Beyonwiz.

Normally the Beyonwiz will send back a message that a timer has been cancelled, but not in the above circumstances when all timers are just dropped at once.

While the ability to re-send all recordings did use to work like you want in the past, recent firmware versions on the Beyonwiz have had issues re-sending timers that are already in the Beyonwiz itself.

From memory, I ended up rescanning all channels. Thus deleting all timers, then did a resend.
I think that worked.
But its now a bit fuzzy.
Screen: Panasonic TH-60ST60A; BeyonWiz U4; Panasonic BD-35 Blu_Ray player

User avatar
_DrifteR_
Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 18:53
Location: Brisbane

Post by _DrifteR_ » Sun Jul 11, 2010 16:27

I've called IceTV (yes they are helpful even on a weekend) and all looks good from their sever side. I've now tried another rescan and a factory reset, still not fixed!

I suppose I will wait a couple of days to see if the "48 hour" rule applies here. I will post back if/when I find a solution.
DP-P2 (1.05.350)
ATV2-XBMC
LG 42" HD Plasma
ReadyNAS for Streaming
(ex Toppy 5000, ex MediaGate, ex MediaPortal PC)

IanSav
Uber Wizard
Posts: 16833
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 15:00
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by IanSav » Sun Jul 11, 2010 16:31

Hi,

In an unrelated but somewhat related note I have been unable to access IceTV (to update my PC widget) since Thursday. I have traced the issue to a routing problem within my ISP's network. I have documented the issue and provided test data to substantiate my report and am waiting for the ISP to fix the problem.

The ISP is TPG and I am located in Melbourne. As of a check a few minutes ago I am still unable to connect.

Regards,
Ian.

blonk
Master
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 22:06

Post by blonk » Mon Jul 12, 2010 08:50

I have had problems like this since installing firmware 301. Resending timers no longer works. Have also had IceTV check it out and they reckon all is OK on their end. The only fix I have had is to re-install the firmware, this then allows you to resend the timers successfully. I have tried rescanning, deleteting caches, etc etc. but re-installing the firmware is the only thing I have been able to do, to successfully get IceTV to resend the timers. Once that's done, it all works nicely. Until the next DST change of course.

User avatar
grampus
Wizard
Posts: 1507
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 07:16
Location: Williamstown Vic

Post by grampus » Mon Jul 12, 2010 09:39

blonk wrote:I have had problems like this since installing firmware 301. Resending timers no longer works. Have also had IceTV check it out and they reckon all is OK on their end. The only fix I have had is to re-install the firmware, this then allows you to resend the timers successfully. I have tried rescanning, deleteting caches, etc etc. but re-installing the firmware is the only thing I have been able to do, to successfully get IceTV to resend the timers. Once that's done, it all works nicely. Until the next DST change of course.
It sounds a fairly painful path you've followed.
It appears it worked prior to V301? and that BW has a problem.
I understand that this has been identified to BW at some stage.

I wonder if the beta testers can identify that this problem is being worked on in the current beta stream.

If not can we have an entry on the bugs list, so that we don't lose sight of it?
It'd be nice to have it resolved before the next DST changeover.
Screen: Panasonic TH-60ST60A; BeyonWiz U4; Panasonic BD-35 Blu_Ray player

User avatar
tonymy01
Uber Wizard
Posts: 6373
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 15:25
Location: Sydney, Australia DP-S1-1TB, DP-P2-2TB, DP-T4-2TB, DP-T4-BB... too many!
Contact:

Post by tonymy01 » Mon Jul 12, 2010 15:00

It is either fixed in the current beta, or the steps I went thru to repeat the problem didn't manifest it. I have a beta wizdvp app ready to run if the issue ever surfaces again! This logs to console though, so you need the serial port stuff hooked up internally to capture the ICE messages.... certainly Beyonwiz Korea was keen to track this down also, but not being able to get it to come back (after complaining about the same issue in the past, the Invalid MSG error), meant we could not get progress on this.
Tony

User avatar
madmax
Wizard
Posts: 4069
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 22:32
Location: Keilor East, Melbourne

Post by madmax » Mon Jul 12, 2010 15:06

grampus wrote:
if the timers are all dropped on the Beyonwiz because of a re-scan or a reset to factory defaults it will not send a message back to the IceTV server to say that the timers are no longer in the Beyonwiz.

Normally the Beyonwiz will send back a message that a timer has been cancelled, but not in the above circumstances when all timers are just dropped at once.

While the ability to re-send all recordings did use to work like you want in the past, recent firmware versions on the Beyonwiz have had issues re-sending timers that are already in the Beyonwiz itself.

From memory, I ended up rescanning all channels. Thus deleting all timers, then did a resend.
I think that worked.
But its now a bit fuzzy.
I don't get it.....according to the above quote from Ice, this should *not* have worked for you, but it did..... :?:

FWIW, I have never had a problem with the 'Resend all timers' function, however I only use it at DST changeover, i.e. only twice a year.

User avatar
grampus
Wizard
Posts: 1507
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 07:16
Location: Williamstown Vic

Post by grampus » Mon Jul 12, 2010 16:51

madmax wrote:
grampus wrote:
if the timers are all dropped on the Beyonwiz because of a re-scan or a reset to factory defaults it will not send a message back to the IceTV server to say that the timers are no longer in the Beyonwiz.

Normally the Beyonwiz will send back a message that a timer has been cancelled, but not in the above circumstances when all timers are just dropped at once.

While the ability to re-send all recordings did use to work like you want in the past, recent firmware versions on the Beyonwiz have had issues re-sending timers that are already in the Beyonwiz itself.

From memory, I ended up rescanning all channels. Thus deleting all timers, then did a resend.
I think that worked.
But its now a bit fuzzy.
I don't get it.....according to the above quote from Ice, this should *not* have worked for you, but it did..... :?:

FWIW, I have never had a problem with the 'Resend all timers' function, however I only use it at DST changeover, i.e. only twice a year.
Talk about fuzzy,
I think I could have taken the response 2 ways.
1: It doesn't send back a signal. But should.
2: it shouldn't send back a signal.

I give up.

I guess I'll have to wait till I get a new version, and see when DST occurs.
Screen: Panasonic TH-60ST60A; BeyonWiz U4; Panasonic BD-35 Blu_Ray player

User avatar
tonymy01
Uber Wizard
Posts: 6373
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 15:25
Location: Sydney, Australia DP-S1-1TB, DP-P2-2TB, DP-T4-2TB, DP-T4-BB... too many!
Contact:

Post by tonymy01 » Mon Jul 12, 2010 17:26

For the interim, you will have to go to your wiz guide and set the timers manually for the next day or so, and then you will see subsequent timers will start coming thru ok.
Tony

User avatar
_DrifteR_
Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 18:53
Location: Brisbane

Post by _DrifteR_ » Mon Jul 12, 2010 20:54

Thanks all for your feedback. Timer are back up and running now, looks like the "48 hour" rule applied here. Had to manually set timers last night and got home late tonight and timers have been set (by icetv) starting from 8.30pm - timers were updated sometime between 7am and 8pm today.

One strange thing I noticed is that all the reinstated timers should have already been sent to the beyonwiz several days ago, so unless I am wrong, the timers have been resent, just looks like there was a delay processing them (by the Wiz). Anyway, if it ain't broke... And now it ain't broke (anymore).

Thanks all again
DP-P2 (1.05.350)
ATV2-XBMC
LG 42" HD Plasma
ReadyNAS for Streaming
(ex Toppy 5000, ex MediaGate, ex MediaPortal PC)

sydney2218
Apprentice
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 16:13

Post by sydney2218 » Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:12

I had the missing ABC News 24 on EPG for 1 week & did all the usual actions again & again but it filled in after a week ! First time i had an issue with a new LCN on my P1. Ice support was fantastic , very quick email response,thanks again. The underling issue remains unresolved but all is well ,now.

FrankPoole
Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 15:13

Post by FrankPoole » Fri Sep 17, 2010 08:53

sydney2218 wrote:I had the missing ABC News 24 on EPG for 1 week & did all the usual actions again & again but it filled in after a week ! First time i had an issue with a new LCN on my P1. Ice support was fantastic , very quick email response,thanks again. The underling issue remains unresolved but all is well ,now.
Err, just hit this issue and am not happy at all. Rescanned (it did warn me about timer loss), but a day later still no timers. I then asked IceTV if they could 'push' my timers and they quickly "tried" to send them back down. Didn't work.

It seems they point the finger at Beyonwiz. A recent email said such machines "only ... send back a limited amount of information" and they (IceTV) "can not validate each schedule current in your machine"

If so, I wonder what this 48 hour rule is? A catch-all time-out?

My Toppy had a TAP that let me export/import timers. Can't seem to find anything for the DP-P2. Is there? I reckon I'll go thru it all again next week when the new digital channels come on board! Even unhappier, knowing it's coming and there's apparently nothing I can do.


Panasonic THP50V10A 50" V Plasma
Beyonwiz DP-P2
Popcorn Hour A-100
XBMC on Laptop via HDMI <sometimes>


User avatar
tonymy01
Uber Wizard
Posts: 6373
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 15:25
Location: Sydney, Australia DP-S1-1TB, DP-P2-2TB, DP-T4-2TB, DP-T4-BB... too many!
Contact:

Post by tonymy01 » Fri Sep 17, 2010 09:03

what does the ICE status window show in the Wiz? I am guessing it is the problem mine use to get at each DST transition, and it resolves itself after 2 or 3 days.
Tony

FrankPoole
Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 15:13

Post by FrankPoole » Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:22

tonymy01 wrote:what does the ICE status window show in the Wiz? I am guessing it is the problem mine use to get at each DST transition, and it resolves itself after 2 or 3 days.
Me?

Code: Select all

Wait 11 minutes to get scheduler talks
MSG "Request ignored because it's being made too often"
Weird other behaviour also: 1 timer for each of Mon and Tue have appeared (by themselves) But nothing for Sat and Sun plus others on Mon have NOT appeared. There should be ones for Sat and Sun.

Not happy :twisted: I would have thought a basic function of any system would be to do a back up (export) BEFORE MAKING A CHANGE. It's Computer Basics 101. Yet neither IceTV nor BW seems to provide this. Please say I'm wrong and there is way to export/import my Timers, on either IceTV or BW...


Panasonic THP50V10A 50" V Plasma
Beyonwiz DP-P2
Popcorn Hour A-100
XBMC on Laptop via HDMI <sometimes>


prl
Wizard God
Posts: 30489
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 13:49
Location: Canberra; Black Mountain Tower transmitters

Post by prl » Fri Sep 17, 2010 11:13

FrankPoole wrote:
tonymy01 wrote:what does the ICE status window show in the Wiz? I am guessing it is the problem mine use to get at each DST transition, and it resolves itself after 2 or 3 days.
Me?

Code: Select all

Wait 11 minutes to get scheduler talks
MSG "Request ignored because it's being made too often"
Weird other behaviour also: 1 timer for each of Mon and Tue have appeared (by themselves) But nothing for Sat and Sun plus others on Mon have NOT appeared. There should be ones for Sat and Sun.

Not happy :twisted: I would have thought a basic function of any system would be to do a back up (export) BEFORE MAKING A CHANGE. It's Computer Basics 101. Yet neither IceTV nor BW seems to provide this. Please say I'm wrong and there is way to export/import my Timers, on either IceTV or BW...
The sort of behaviour you're seeing is similar to what I saw when I transferred my IceTV recordings from my old S1 to my new Lite. It completely messed up the recordings for almost all the timers that had been sent at the time I switched over. It only straightened itself out as the horizon for timers sent moved closer, and IceTV started sending timers that it thought hadn't been sent already.

I've never been able to work out what "resend all timers" is supoosed to do, and its actual behaviour has generally been co unpredictable that I've never really worked out what it actually does. It doesn't actually appear to simply clear the IceTV-set timers out of the Beyonwiz and send the whole set of timers again, as you might expect it to do.

As for timer backup/restore, unfortunately you're correct, there is no supported way to do that. It may be possible using (or misusing) the remote timer setting hacks from (IIRC, OpenWiz Wiki is down again) efry and tonymy01. But they require some fairly heavy-duty hacking.
Peter
T4 HDMI
U4, T4, T3, T2, V2 test/development machines
Sony BDV-9200W HT system
LG OLED55C9PTA 55" OLED TV

FrankPoole
Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 15:13

Post by FrankPoole » Fri Sep 17, 2010 13:58

prl wrote: I've never been able to work out what "resend all timers" is supoosed to do, and its actual behaviour has generally been co unpredictable that I've never really worked out what it actually does. It doesn't actually appear to simply clear the IceTV-set timers out of the Beyonwiz and send the whole set of timers again, as you might expect it to do.
.
Well that may have been the hint I needed, as it seems to be recovering now. I just found the option on IceTV's web site "Resend all recordings" (maybe that's it's new name, not "resend all timers"?)

It's under My Account -> TV Recorders. Within a minute or so, the correct Timers are back on the DP-P2 for Today, Sat, Sun and Mon.

So thank you for the hint, if that was the option you were referring to. If not thanks for accidently putting me in the right direction!


Panasonic THP50V10A 50" V Plasma
Beyonwiz DP-P2
Popcorn Hour A-100
XBMC on Laptop via HDMI <sometimes>


prl
Wizard God
Posts: 30489
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 13:49
Location: Canberra; Black Mountain Tower transmitters

Post by prl » Fri Sep 17, 2010 16:27

FrankPoole wrote:
prl wrote: I've never been able to work out what "resend all timers" is supoosed to do, and its actual behaviour has generally been co unpredictable that I've never really worked out what it actually does. It doesn't actually appear to simply clear the IceTV-set timers out of the Beyonwiz and send the whole set of timers again, as you might expect it to do.
.
Well that may have been the hint I needed, as it seems to be recovering now. I just found the option on IceTV's web site "Resend all recordings" (maybe that's it's new name, not "resend all timers"?)

It's under My Account -> TV Recorders. Within a minute or so, the correct Timers are back on the DP-P2 for Today, Sat, Sun and Mon.

So thank you for the hint, if that was the option you were referring to. If not thanks for accidently putting me in the right direction!
That was what I meant, I was just too lazy to look up what it actually said on teh IceTV Web. Resend all recordings is the one. You clearly had more success with it than I did :)
Peter
T4 HDMI
U4, T4, T3, T2, V2 test/development machines
Sony BDV-9200W HT system
LG OLED55C9PTA 55" OLED TV

User avatar
tonymy01
Uber Wizard
Posts: 6373
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 15:25
Location: Sydney, Australia DP-S1-1TB, DP-P2-2TB, DP-T4-2TB, DP-T4-BB... too many!
Contact:

Post by tonymy01 » Fri Sep 17, 2010 18:29

FrankPoole wrote:

Code: Select all

Wait 11 minutes to get scheduler talks
MSG "Request ignored because it's being made too often"
That massage is entirely normal, it has a hold off timer (11minutes left in yours) where at the end, it grabs the events... or in my case a while ago, spits out an error message at the end of the time to wait to grab scheduler events and EPG.
Tony

IanSav
Uber Wizard
Posts: 16833
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 15:00
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by IanSav » Fri Sep 17, 2010 21:55

Hi Tony,

Do you like to massage your messages? :P :lol:

Regards,
Ian.

FrankPoole
Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 15:13

Post by FrankPoole » Sat Sep 18, 2010 15:44

Righto, IceTV has been kind enough to explain to me what happens when you do a rescan, such as what I did. I have been given the okay to re-post here. It may be new to you and will hopefully be of value:

<start of info from IceTV>

"We do not resend recordings if they have been deleted on your end without you manually doing it. Unlike the guide (which is fully refreshed each time), we only send schedule data once.

The reason is that a lot of boxes don't like it if we send too many schedules at once.

What we do is send a small number of schedules at a time, and then wait for a response from your box. If it says 'good' then we fill in the red circle on our website. If it says 'error' we show the yellow triangle. For errors, you can resend it manually through our website. Once your box has confirmed it will record a specific episode, we will not resend it.

If you clear your timers on the box, either through a factory reset, or by rescanning you will need to click on the "Resend All Recordings" link from our website to make sure all the timers are resent. When you do that, programs are sent in a trickle and not all at once so that we don't upset the boxes we're sending to.

IceTV does not offer official support on the forums. If you have an issue, it's best to contact us directly. There are a large number of possible causes for programs not scheduling, and what works for some may not work for you".

<end of info from IceTV>

Lastly they will update their "A new channel is available..." guide at http://www.icetv.com.au/cgi-bin/websupp ... cat3_id=59 as it does not currently mention the Resend All Recordings step.

Thanks to IceTV for their help.


Panasonic THP50V10A 50" V Plasma
Beyonwiz DP-P2
Popcorn Hour A-100
XBMC on Laptop via HDMI <sometimes>


prl
Wizard God
Posts: 30489
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 13:49
Location: Canberra; Black Mountain Tower transmitters

Post by prl » Sat Sep 18, 2010 17:40

FrankPoole wrote:...

If you clear your timers on the box, either through a factory reset, or by rescanning you will need to click on the "Resend All Recordings" link from our website to make sure all the timers are resent. When you do that, programs are sent in a trickle and not all at once so that we don't upset the boxes we're sending to.
...
That's not my experience of what happens when recordings are deleted on the Beyonwiz and I do a Resend all recordings.
Peter
T4 HDMI
U4, T4, T3, T2, V2 test/development machines
Sony BDV-9200W HT system
LG OLED55C9PTA 55" OLED TV

FrankPoole
Apprentice
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 15:13

Post by FrankPoole » Sat Sep 18, 2010 17:51

prl wrote:
FrankPoole wrote:...

If you clear your timers on the box, either through a factory reset, or by rescanning you will need to click on the "Resend All Recordings" link from our website to make sure all the timers are resent. When you do that, programs are sent in a trickle and not all at once so that we don't upset the boxes we're sending to.
...
That's not my experience of what happens when recordings are deleted on the Beyonwiz and I do a Resend all recordings.
Okay, I have a DP-P2 and actually just did it again an hour or so ago. The new GEM station appeared in the IceTV guide, so I dived in a did a rescan (didn't seem to really be there, GEM not found)

Anyway all Timers lost (confirmed, nothing there on DP-P2). EPG data still there (or had come back very quickly). Did the "Resend All Recordings" and within an hour the Timers back on DP-P2.

Success maybe tied in to fact than no new channels found? Dunno. Guess I'll find out when GEM really does appear.


Panasonic THP50V10A 50" V Plasma
Beyonwiz DP-P2
Popcorn Hour A-100
XBMC on Laptop via HDMI <sometimes>


prl
Wizard God
Posts: 30489
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 13:49
Location: Canberra; Black Mountain Tower transmitters

Post by prl » Sat Sep 18, 2010 18:01

Perhaps they've fixed it in the meantime.
Peter
T4 HDMI
U4, T4, T3, T2, V2 test/development machines
Sony BDV-9200W HT system
LG OLED55C9PTA 55" OLED TV

Trial_Master
Guru
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 21:50
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Post by Trial_Master » Fri Feb 03, 2012 23:04

prl wrote:Perhaps they've fixed it in the meantime.
Yeah I think they did. I vaguely recall the post.

Post Reply

Return to “Ice TV”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest