NAS access

Moderators: Gully, peteru

Moparmartin
Apprentice

NAS access

Post by Moparmartin » Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:41

Hi guys, HELP! PLEASE....
I get the feeling this should be easy but I'm completely confused. From what I've read I've managed to enter the login fields for my NAS but then there is no way that I can see to OK that info and I don't believe it has taken the login data from the fields. Whilst I have a diploma in programming, I know very little about networking. I realise the need to mount a media source but I'm totally unfamiliar with the tools and protocols so all the acronyms cause even more confusion. What I can tell you is that I have a U4 connected via an ethernet cable via a Netgear Powerline utility back to my Optus router. I have a Netgear NAS which has the SMB configured to see my PC. So do I need to specifically configure it to see the U4? What steps do I need to set up the U4? I really need step by step instructions so I can understand what and why. I'm also wrestling with the remote due to lack of familiarity and no consistency in the controls from level to level.

prl
Wizard God

Re: NAS access

Post by prl » Tue Jun 26, 2018 12:03

Please use paragraphs. Enter two newlines in a row to get a paragraph.

Screens that have a HELP button hint icon at the bottom right will display a help screen when you press the HELP button on the remote. Setup screens, though, don't generally have help screens. The help screen has its own help screen if you press HELP in a help screen.

Live TV, timeshifted live TV and recording/media playback also have help screens, though there's nowhere to display the button hint icon.