RANT about Transfer Speed

Advanced Discussions on Programing for & Modifying Beyonwiz Products.

Moderators: Gully, peteru

Jawbraeka
Apprentice

RANT about Transfer Speed

Post by Jawbraeka » Mon Sep 07, 2009 13:55

hi im new to the Beyonwiz forum and would like to starts by giving some feedback into my dp-p2 experiences.

i will stress that i am not a programmer of any description but i do come along with some great ideas and i believe that these should be implemented into the beyonwiz range.

Firstly, I understand that timeshifting is a great option for people watching TV.. But what about people that use their gaming console via The AV input... does 'Timeshift' really matter at all cause that just uses up unnecessary buffer, creates heat for the machine itself, causes undue wear on the harddrive as well just generally makes the Beyonwiz a little heatbox.

I really don't want to replay my gaming experience over and over again unless i needed to for example:- add a clip of my gameplay to youtube, or want to keep it for posperity reasons as i noticed while playing my console it would hit the end of the buffer and the gameplay would actually lag due to the clearing of the buffer.

My point through this is can we have the option to turn off timeshift in 'AV mode'?

Another thing i would like to see is a new layout for BW players... i feel that it is a nice machine and it seems to give an image which is let down by the look of the OS on the machines currently.... i mean please don't get me wrong, i love beyonwiz functionality but couldn't a much better layout be designed for the "future" of beyonwiz and impliemented into current models and models for the future.... my comparison is that it looks like a Commodore 64 in a Playstation 3 world and the look could be improved immensily