Page 1 of 1

DP-S1 telnet access patch

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:08
by efry
Hi Guys,

I've patched the 01.05.192 firmware to allow telnet access.

you can find the patch along with instructions at

http://www.beyonwizsoftware.net/softwar ... e-patch/0/

Enjoy!

Eric

PS Use at your own risk! :wink:

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 13:01
by tonymy01
192 :-(
Is it easy to do, I would like 195 for the S1 please :-)
Regards

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 22:29
by efry
tonymy01 wrote:192 :-(
Is it easy to do, I would like 195 for the S1 please :-)
Regards
It's pretty straight forward. I just added a line into the rc.sysinit script which loaded the telnetd process

telnetd -l /bin/sh &

You just need to unpack the firmware
decompress linux.bin.gz
find rc.sysinit in the linux.bin file
then overwrite one of the comments with the telnet line.

There are some nice big comments
I over wrote a comment so I wouldn't add any bytes to the file which would cause the whole romfs image to become out of alignment.

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 08:06
by alwayslooking
Have you noticed any issues as a result of enabling it?
I'll have to do my own if I want telnet access to my P1 :wink:

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 08:44
by Kezza
Tony did you patch the 195 firmware?

Kezza

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 09:48
by alwayslooking
It's probably possible to write a small app that does that process for either the S1, P1 or H1 firmware.

Telnet access should have some benefits.
If I get a chance, I might be able to add it into the WizTools GUI I am putting together for Eric's utilities, like a check box that says "Enable Telnet" which does the extra mod.

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 23:40
by DaveR
alwayslooking wrote:It's probably possible to write a small app that does that process for either the S1, P1 or H1 firmware.
Already got that planned 8)

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 04:50
by janilxx
Dave? wrote:
alwayslooking wrote:It's probably possible to write a small app that does that process for either the S1, P1 or H1 firmware.
Already got that planned 8)
Are you doing some kind of patcher application for BW :-) ?
Same kind as Topfield's Firmware Patcher?

It would be useful to be able to do any kind of patches and patcher would do all the job (unpack FW, decompress linux.bin.gz, find correct place and add/replace stuff from patch, pack FW again).

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 07:49
by alwayslooking
Dave? wrote:
alwayslooking wrote:It's probably possible to write a small app that does that process for either the S1, P1 or H1 firmware.
Already got that planned 8)
I'll leave it to you then :D
janilxx wrote: Are you doing some kind of patcher application for BW :-) ?
Same kind as Topfield's Firmware Patcher?

It would be useful to be able to do any kind of patches and patcher would do all the job (unpack FW, decompress linux.bin.gz, find correct place and add/replace stuff from patch, pack FW again).
I'm pretty sure that's what Dave is planning and I agree it would be very useful :D

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 22:30
by grunta
Hope you're not doing that during work time Dave ....... LOL

:P

Posted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 18:29
by alwayslooking
I've posted a telnet patch for the P1
http://www.beyonwiz.com.au/phpbb2/viewt ... 0172#20172

Available from the Beyonwiz Software site
http://www.beyonwizsoftware.net/softwar ... 03/#msg603

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 14:27
by alwayslooking
Does anyone want / need the telnet patch for the March 20 P1 firmware?

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 17:07
by prl
Just this morning I rolled my own for my DP-H1 1.05.195 beta (there's no telnet patch for te H1) using unpack_wrp.pl & pack_wrp.pl from BWFWTools.

This is the change I made in rc.sysinit. The weird filenames are because of unpacking the ROMFS filesystems in case-insensitive mode:

Code: Select all

*** DPH1-01.05.195.root/001x_etc/001x_rc.sysinit        Sat Apr  5 17:58:19 2008
--- DPH1-01.05.195_telnet.root/001x_etc/001x_rc.sysinit Sat Apr  5 17:59:14 2008
***************
*** 77,82 ****
--- 77,84 ----
        # rc.local
        if [ -x "${CONFIG_DIR}/rc.local" ];then 
                ${CONFIG_DIR}/rc.local &
+       else
+               telnetd -l /bin/sh &
        fi
        if [ -f "/tmp/config/shell" -o -f "/tmp/config/nowizdvp" ];then
                /bin/msh
By doing it this way, it allows for the telnetd startup to be in rc.local, as with the wizremote startup.

It won't work if you already have an rc.local that doesn't start telnet (like the one in Eric's wizremote package.

Just add

Code: Select all

telnetd -l /bin/sh &
to rc.local, if you have one, before flashing my patch, and if you add an rc.local, you'll need to start telnet in it, too.

I'm reluctant to post that one for the H1, because it's a beta, but I could patch and post 01.05.192.

I guess this also answers by question from the other day about whether unpack_wrp/pack_wrp work for creating patched FW (provided the patch itself doesn't break anything).

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 20:09
by alwayslooking
Tony told me about the changes to rc.sysinit this morning after I'd changed the P1 March firmware t enable telnet, which is why I asked if anyone wanted it.

I will change my rc.sysinit anyway.

I haven't tried your perl scripts to pack and unpack, I used WizTools GUI (guess why!) with Eric's WizTools.

I'm interested in the getWizPnP though - that looks interesting - I'm having a look at it now.

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 22:00
by prl
The distributions for the patches and the WizToolsGUI are Windows only. My home machine is a Mac.

And I like doing the hacks myself :)

Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 23:24
by prl
Curious thing. Now that I've got telnetd running from rc.local on the DP-H1, I occasionally see ERROR 0022 on the front panel, apparently spontaneously, and some time after telnetd starts. Changing channels resets the error message. Does this happen on other models when telnetd is running?

Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 01:07
by tonymy01
Nope, not on the S1?

Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:45
by alwayslooking
prl wrote:The distributions for the patches and the WizToolsGUI are Windows only. My home machine is a Mac.
Don't the Intel processors in the current Macs allow dual boot between OSX and WindowsXP?

prl wrote:And I like doing the hacks myself :)
There's a certain satisfaction in understanding how it all works isn't there :D
prl wrote:Curious thing. Now that I've got telnetd running from rc.local on the DP-H1, I occasionally see ERROR 0022 on the front panel, apparently spontaneously, and some time after telnetd starts. Changing channels resets the error message. Does this happen on other models when telnetd is running?
I haven't noticed that, but what I did notice on the first boot up, after applying the telnet hacked firmware, was I could get a telnet session, but as soon as I tried to type anything, it would close the session. A reboot seemed to fix that and it's working fine now :|

Posted: Sun Apr 06, 2008 11:02
by prl
alwayslooking wrote:
prl wrote:The distributions for the patches and the WizToolsGUI are Windows only. My home machine is a Mac.
Don't the Intel processors in the current Macs allow dual boot between OSX and WindowsXP?
I didn't say how old it is. It's a PPC G5. And even if it were an Intel Mac, I doubt I'd buy Windows XP just so I could use Eric's patches. Especially since I think (un)pack_wrp is a more powerful tool, and lets me make the patches just the way I want.

I'm just about to start seeing if I can usefully tweak wizpnp using the /etc/shttpd.conf file.

Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 13:03
by sebjavierw
How do I access the rc.sysinit script file.

Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2010 13:11
by prl
sebjavierw wrote:How do I access the rc.sysinit script file.
The BWFWTools package's bw_patcher tool and the Beyonwiz::Hacks::Telnet modue provide one way of creating a modified Beyonwiz firmware package with telnet enables. It take a bit of effort to install it on Windows, since it's written in perl, and you need to install perl on Windows to run it. It's also a commandline program, not a nice GUI.

Unfortunately, the server it's normally available from is down at the moment, and is likely to be for several more days.

What do you want to do?